A Summary of Requirements of Connecticut’s Time’s Up Act
During the 2019 legislative session, the General Assembly passed and Governor Lamont signed into law Public Acts 19-16 and 19-93, which together constitute “An Act Combatting Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment” or the “Time’s Up Act”. The Time’s Up Act went into effect on October 1, 2019, and expands sexual harassment training requirements for all Connecticut Employers. Previously, only CT employers with 50 or more employees were required to provide sexual harassment training to supervisory employees. The Times’ Up Act requires all CT employers, regardless of size to provide sexual harassment training to their supervisory employees. All CT employers that have three or more employees must provide training to all employees. A summary of the requirements of the Time’s up Act follows:
- Employers must provide all existing employees with two hours of training by October 1, 2020.
- Employers must provide two hours of training and education to new employees hired on or after October 1, 2019, within six months of their start date.
- Employers with fewer than three employees must provide two hours of training and education to all existing supervisory employees by October 1, 2020, or within six months to new supervisory employees.
- Employers will be required to provide to a new employee a copy of the information regarding the illegality of sexual harassment and remedies available to victims by either emailing them the policy or posting it on the employer’s website.
- Employers must post notices regarding the illegality of sexual harassment. Connecticut’s Commission on Human Rights and Opportunity now have the right to enter an employer’s place of business to ensure compliance with posting requirements.
- Employers must provide periodic supplemental training not less than every ten years.
- The Time’s Act also expands protections for employees as follows: (i) if an employee complains of sexual harassment, an employer cannot modify the terms of such employees’ employment unless the employee consents to such change in writing; (ii) employees now have 300 days instead of 180 days to file a charge of discriminatory practice against their employer; and (iii) the Time’s Up Act also expands potential damages awarded to employee